Magical mystery (aurora) tour

Two nights ago (2nd Oct 2013), I was very lucky to see beautiful auroras throughout the night. Earlier that day all odds were against it.

Being filled with clouds, the weather forecast was not encouraging, but for some reason the skies cleared by nightfall. My car had two surprises in store for me: two flat tires which I apparently am to blame for due to my photo excursion the weekend before. Back then I hit a big rock driving through a narrow forest road and when I checked all seemed fine. The air slowly left and – looking now back – I’m glad it happened in my home yard and not in the middle of no-where at night!

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Touching fingertips: Two hands trying to touch each other.

After fixing the car, I left home at 9.30pm driving towards this lake North of Oulu. When I arrived, the show already started. Half of the sky was filled with a thin layer of aurora-fog which didn’t move. In the middle of it was a strong green arc. It didn’t take long and the lights started to dance in all directions. One hour later I saw already three coronas. Because of that aurora-fog most photos were more or less green. That’s when I knew this would be a different night than usually.

I had a lot more time just to enjoy auroras and didn’t concentrate too much on taking pictures. In future, I might just do that again. It’s just so different when taking the time and watch, sucking in the atmosphere, the movement of the lights and the many different shapes. The silence paired with auroras was overwhelming and for a while I held my breath and listened to – nothing.

Copyright: Thomas Kast

“Aurora-fog” in the sky with two arcs

At some point the ‘Earthly’ fog came in made the place looking even more mystic. There was no moonlight, only auroras and the fog. At times there were only weak Northern lights and it was very dark. When bright auroras appeared I could recognize even details on the ground. What didn’t change was the dance right above my head, an extraordinary display of green flickering. At one moment the sky was almost black and a split-second later some parts where lit up, another split-second later it had a different shape or place.

I don’t think any of today’s cameras can capture details of this sort of display. I’m glad they can’t, because I can just stare up in disbelief. To me these auroras are completely random, totally unpredictable and breathtakingly mesmerizing. Just writing about it and thinking back, makes me at a loss for words, again.

Copyright: Thomas Kast

“Common” fog coming on the lake

To capture auroras with a vast field with sparse, tall trees has been a long dream for me. I’ve been a couple of times at such a field, but the photos didn’t bring out the atmosphere as I hoped. Two nights ago the auroras looked to be perfect and I went to a field, leaving the dancing lights behind me. When I got to that place I immediately knew ‘this is it’. Just the atmosphere I hoped, I couldn’t believe it. But enough writing, let photos speak for themselves.

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Enchanted: Tree silhouettes create an out-of-this-world atmosphere

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Copyright: Thomas Kast

2 responses to “Magical mystery (aurora) tour

  1. Love all the photos. The last one shared was especially awesome. Did the aurora touch down to the trees or is that the “fog” that you refer to?

    Regardless, the trees look like they are being pulled up into the aurora!! Thanks for sharing!

    • Glad you like it, Donna! The aurora touched pretty much down to the trees, but there is part fog with it. You can see that especially with the trees on very left. Their stem (before the twigs start) are surrounded by fog. The treetop green is aurora, alright!

Leave a Reply

