Light pillars (a.k.a. cat food)

Last night I went to the grocery shop to get some food for our cats. I bought all kinds of things – except the cat food. I noticed that once I was back home and with -18C outside I really didn’t want to go again. But I did and luckily so! For some reason I went to another shop and on my way there I saw light pillars popping up in the sky. Quickly buying the cat food I went home and grabbed my gear. The air was filled with dancing ice crystals, creating the illusion of light pillars for almost every light source. I saw them from head lights of cars and even the moon had pillars!

By the way, the cats enjoyed their food once I was back home🙂

Here some more information on light pillars.

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Light pillars from spot lights of a big parking area in Oulu.

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Another view through some trees.

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Light pillars with Christmas lights. Also street lamps have pillars

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Light pillars from a football field & light trails of passing cars.

21 responses to “Light pillars (a.k.a. cat food)

  1. Pingback: تصویر نجومی روز » تصاویر اخیر ستون‌های نوری بر فراز فنلاند » تصویر نجومی روز

  2. Pingback: Piares de luz sobre Finlandia | APOD galego

  3. Pingback: Pilares de luz sobre Finlandia | Imagen astronomía diaria - Observatorio

  4. Pingback: Lichtpilaren | Raymond Klaassen

  5. Pingback: ستون‌های نوری بر فراز فنلاند | گوگلت | تصویر نجومی روز

  6. Pingback: NASA’s Astronomy Picture Of The Day: Light Pillars Over Finland - Socks On An Octopus

  7. Pingback: NASA’s Astronomy Picture of the Day – I like the sound of that! | Salamapaja

  8. Pingback: The Flea-Market of the Hive Mind | The Owl Underground

  9. Pingback: Light Pillars over Finland - wordlessTech

  10. Pingback: » Astrofoto: NGC 6946, Bublinová mlhovina, Lví trio a světelné pilíře - Astronomicon

  11. Pingback: Stunning Photo of Light Pillars, Columns of Light Made Possible by Ice Crystals

  12. Pingback: Stunning Photo of Light Pillars, Columns of Light Made Possible by Ice Crystals | Photospot

  13. Pingback: Light pillars (a.k.a. cat food) | Incubare & Sucubare

  14. Pingback: Thomas Kast’s spectacular photo of light pillars in Oulu, Finland posted by NASA website as picture of the day » Daniel Irimia

  15. BONJOUR !
    comme quoi les chats sont nos anges qui nous donnent un beau chemin ! Merci pour ce partage ! A bientôt ! Clara (from France)

    • The translation is not quite, I wanted to say that cats are marvellous that they show us the way of the pure beauty !
      Clara

      • Bonjour Clara!
        thanks for translating, I have to agree with you. Cats are wonderful creatures and its so good to see and follow what they do. Luckily mine made me go and take these photos🙂
        Have a wonderful weekend,
        Thomas

Leave a Reply

