Behind the camera – Memories of 2013

While spending time with my family at Christmas I thought about listing my top photos of 2013. In the last days of 2013 I saw that many others did just that. So I felt like doing something different.

Here are some photos from 2013 which I haven’t shared with anyone yet. Each one is a memorable moment for me and I want to tell you what happened around each photo.

Party crashers (19 Jan 2013 – 23:55 hrs)
On that windy, cold night I was out shooting a timelapse sequence with a friend. Our cameras were set up on the frozen Baltic Sea and we enjoyed dancing auroras. About an hour in, two snow mobiles drove into the scene from North. Always expect the unexpected, I guess.
At the top of the photo you can see how the cold and moist wind started to freeze over my lens. A while later my gear was completely covered in ice and part of me was happy to have an excuse to go back to my warm home🙂

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Uninvited guests


Shadows by moonset (18 March 2013 – 01:27 hrs)
A wonderful night filled with amazing auroras came slowly to an end with the moon making its way towards the horizon. The more it came down the more it turned orange, just like the sun would set.
In this photo I tried to capture the shadows cast by the moonlight together with auroras. About one kilometer away was a great field of snow with trees positioned a lot better for this shot. To be honest I was totally exhausted after more than six hours running around with the camera and couldn’t be bothered to walk there.

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Moonlight shadows on the left


Lost in the Baltic Sea (4 May 2013 – 23:19 hrs)

I was happy to witness a great spring sunset over the Baltic Sea with literally no wind. The water was dead still and I got wonderful reflections. At some point I wanted to get a nice reflection also from the paper factory steam. So I went into the water and set up the tripod there. After capturing the photo below I tried out many more things before packed my gear away. It was then when I noticed my tripod foots were gone. Looking for them didn’t help so I went home. On the next day I picked up the tripod and made a mess at home. The legs were filled with – now dried – sand. Always learning new things it seems🙂

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Reflected steam


Put away the camera (27 July 2013 – 22:22 hrs)

A summer night out with a friend who was visiting me. We had our gear and eventually ended up at Nallikari beach in Oulu. Seeing some guys throwing frisbee gave me two thoughts. First: Take a photo, this may be a great silhouette shot. And so I did take this one with the reflecting sun in the water. Second: Just sometime put away the camera or leave it at home. Easy to say and easy to write, not all that easy to do. And after all, I was out with my friend and instead a frisbee we had each a camera🙂

Copyright: Thomas Kast

A summer moment

Enough air (29 Sep 2013 – 15:19 hrs)
On this autumn day I drove a forest road to a hiking trail. The trail was great and I got some nice photos. On the way back home I drove over a big stone with both my right tires. Bang – bang. I stopped and had a look but couldn’t find anything. Relieved I made it home. The next morning I forgot all about it and went to work. Well, actually I made it only for 15 metres. Something was wrong and I had a look. One of the tires was flat. In the evening I changed that tire and then noticed the second one was flat too! There was no choice but one: I changed all four summer tires into winter ones🙂

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Flow

And so this flashback to 2013 ends. If you want to see other photos, just visit the galleries on my webpage!

Leave a Reply

