Months of auroral frostration – clear skies ahead?

It is the first day of March and I’m looking hopefully into the coming weeks. Clear skies is what me and many others here in Oulu and in the whole of Finland are waiting for. The past months have not only been exceptionally warm but also very, very cloudy. Don’t get me wrong, I love clouds – if they have some structure and nice shapes, but what we had was a flat layer of boring clouds.

Luckily it wasn’t cloudy everywhere around the globe, so I’ve seen many aurora photos from other places. It’s good to see that all the solar wind coming to Earth isn’t wasted behind thick clouds.

Today I’m looking through my photos from March 2013 which brings me a smile to my face. Here are some of them, perhaps you’ll be smiling too🙂

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Strong auroras above Oulu

Copyright: Thomas Kast

One night a huge moon was visible and I tried my first shots at the moon

Copyright: Thomas Kast

A night to remember, March 17/18

Copyright: Thomas Kast

A selfie🙂

2 responses to “Months of auroral frostration – clear skies ahead?

Leave a Reply

