Digital art: Independence Day

On December 6th we celebrate the Independence Day in Finland. As a special show at night, Northern lights appeared in the sky and I was out to catch some.This time I was in Vihiluoto near Oulu. To my delight the snow on the Baltic Sea was washed away by rain earlier. The remaining layer of ice worked as a mirror for the city lights of Oulu.

While processing the photo, I bumped into an interesting preset which changed the photo from realism to a paint-like canvas. Weeks ago I’ve seen some similar effect on another photo and immediately got inspired. I love to think outside my box and this week there was some time for it, thanks to my wife. Sitting for hours fine-tuning the image, I finally was satisfied and here it is. Make sure you click on it to see it larger.

As always, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on my post🙂

Copyright: Thomas Kast

A view to Oulu from Vihiluoto

4 responses to “Digital art: Independence Day

Leave a Reply

