Surprise after sunset in a June night

Experiencing something unexpected is always an adrenaline rush and the story behind the photo below is no different. In that night I went to Oulunsalo for a nice sunset above the Baltic Sea. The sky was mixed with patches of blue and clouds, some of them containing rain showers. Just as the sun was disappearing behind the horizon, one of those dark cloud made its way right at me. Waiting out the hard rain was a great way to test my jacket which wasn’t all that water proofed as I hoped. The just-after-sunset sky produced then wonderful colours so I kept clicking away. It was then when I noticed a warm glow behind me and I turned around to have a look.

What I saw made my heart race. ‘My’ rain cloud was bathing in sunlight although the sun was below the horizon! And not only that, there was a wonderful pinkish rainbow. I’ve never seen a rainbow after sunset or after midnight! Trying to suck in that moment, my hands were running on autopilot and got busy with the camera. Two photos later then the magic moment passed already and that huge cloud was grey as none of this would have happened. Gotta love nature!

Copyright: Thomas Kast

Rainbow in a June night

 

2 responses to “Surprise after sunset in a June night

Leave a Reply

